Denominations of the Pound.

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Going Out and other Irish topics.

Denominations of the Pound.

Irish banknotes are issued in 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 denominations. The pound () is divided into 100 pence (p), and coins are issued in the following denominations: 100p (1 pound), 50p, 20p, 10p, 5p, 2p and 1p. In the south of Ireland the pound is called the 'punt'.

UPDATE: Since January 2002 the South of Ireland uses the Euro while the North is hanging on to the pound.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Irish Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jerry Mayo